What is gluten?

Ten years ago, no one was overly concerned about gluten, but today, gluten-free is a term we’ve all become familiar with, but do you really know what gluten is and how it affects your body?

Gluten is a protein found in the grains wheat, barley, and rye. It makes pizza dough stretchy, makes bread spongy and it helps to thicken soups and sauces. So why would you want to avoid it? For people who suffer from chronic digestive disorders like celiac disease, gluten can wreak havoc on their systems. A immune response to someone who is gluten sensitive can cause damage to the small intestine leading to gastrointestinal distress and nutritional deficiencies.

Although our products are dairy-free, our products are not gluten free. We do not add any gluten directly in our mixes, but we cannot certify any of our products as being gluten free because of the manner in which some of the flavors we use may be processed. Vanilla, in particular, is typically distilled with grain alcohol. Although it is cooked off during the distillation process, it could still leave some trace amounts of gluten. Since this information is proprietary to the flavor manufacturer, and ordinarily we only require the ingredient be totally dairy free (Kosher Parve), we have no way of knowing for sure. What reaction an individual might have depends on the severity of his/her condition. Our Better Than Cream Cheese and Sour Supreme also have no gluten added, although, once again, alcohol could be used in the manufacture of the flavors. Our Veggie Soy-Cheese slices use distilled vinegar, which may contain traces of gluten. Although distilled vinegar is derived from grain, it is not certain if the vinegar contains gluten.

Whether you’re choosing our products because they’re dairy free, for health reasons or because they just taste so good, the ultimate decision to use our products rests with you, the consumer!